Jamestown UMC - South Central


In 1890, this church was organized as Corinth during services in the old James schoolhouse. Rev. M. C. Austin was the first pastor. The four families that became charter members are the Davis family, McVeigh family, Strickland family, and Williams’s family. The first person to unite with the church in a profession of faith was Miss Ella Lee Mills who was baptized on March 31, 1895. The first marriage recorded by Pastor Austin was that of Mr. O. G. Medlin to Miss M. E. Crosby on October 7, 1894. The first infants were baptized on August 27, 1898. In November 1912, the new church was built where the parsonage now stands. In 1919, it was a part of the Hebardville Circuit with Rev. J. C. Jones as pastor and the following churches: Hebardville, Deanwood, and Heyward. In 1931, it was on the Hebardville Charge as Jamestown with Deanwood, Hebardville, Ruskin, and Gilchrist Park. Rev. C. B. Ray was the pastor.
The present building was built in 1956, and classrooms with a fellowship hall were added. A new parsonage was built in 1976. In 1956, Jamestown became a station church. E. N. Bazemore served as secretary and treasurer of the Sunday school for forty-two years and never missed a Sunday. On June 17, 2007, Rev. Beth Bevill-White was assigned to this church as the first female pastor.



2055 Vann Road
Waycross GA 31503

Stay in the know

Sign up for our newsletters


Conference Office

735 Pierce Avenue - Macon, GA 31204

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209


Administrative Office

520 Professional Drive, Suite 1 - Macon, GA 31201

PO Box 13145 - Macon, GA 31208

478-738-0048 | 800-535-4224

Camping & Retreat Ministries

99 Arthur J. Moore Dr - St Simons Is., GA 31522

PO Box 20408 - St Simons Island, GA 31522

912-638-8626 | 888-266-7642

Contact us

Open hearts. Open minds. Open doors.