The Oak Park Church was organized in 1817 by two young ministers, W. F. Bunford and T. H. Heath. They held a revival meeting under a tent on a vacant lot. Twenty-five people are listed as charter members
. Some members were received by transfer and others chose to be immersed in baptism. This service was held at a spot known as the Bonnet Lake on the Ohoopee River. At a called session of the Quarterly Conference on September 4, 1917, trustees were elected and then accepted a five hundred dollar loan from the conference to build a church. The present building was erected in 1917.