This church was organized in 1879. Its first building, a one-room log structure built from logs cut in the nearby forest, peeled, notched and pegged together. It had shutters at the window openings. In 1899, a larger one-room frame building was constructed and glass windows were installed. The building was curtained off to form Sunday school classes. By 1942, the membership had grown so that more building was required. The old building was moved back and brick veneered with its roof altered. Through the proceeds of the "Lord's Acre Program," gifts of a calf, a litter of pigs, some money, and labor, additions were made in 1959. Since 1911, this church had been on the Chauncey Charge until, with Milan, it became a half station each in 1960.
Mt. Zion experienced a decline in membership after 1971 and was put on a charge with Milan and Midway. This has given Mt. Zion the opportunity to cooperate with the other churches in developing programs that meld the congregations of all three churches in such a way that there is a feeling of unity among members. This didn't happen by design but came about as the result of an effort to maintain an active congregation. The choir was reorganized to include members of all of the churches and would travel each week to the appropriate church. Sunday school was held jointly, meeting at the church which had services. In 1980, UMW reorganized as a charge-wide unit, with members from all of the churches participating. The entire charge also supports a prayer breakfast held at Midway Church on Saturday mornings and hold a family night at Midway once a month. This degree of cooperation among churches on a charge is unique and is a model which might be followed by other charges who are struggling to maintain their churches in a growing crisis of smaller memberships and fewer resources.