COVID-19 updates from Bishop Bryan | Resources for reopening church buildings | Zoom at Noon Conversations | Pray at 12:19

2016 Jurisdictional Conference is July 13-15


The 2016 Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference will meet July 13-15 at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center in Lake Junaluska, NC. The 2016 Conference theme is Hope and Unity in Christ, based on Hebrews 6:18-19a.

Like the worldwide legislative meeting known as General Conference, jurisdictional conferences meet once every four years. However, while General Conference handles denominational matters across the globe, each jurisdictional gathering covers business related to one of the church’s five regional jurisdictions in the United States. The primary business of jurisdictional conferences is the election and assignment of bishops.

Equal numbers of laity and clergy, elected by each annual conference, will be delegates. The South Georgia Conference has eight clergy and eight lay delegates as well as one clergy and two lay alternates.

This year the Southeastern Jurisdiction will elect five new bishops. Any United Methodist ordained elder may be elected a bishop by any jurisdictional conference. Each jurisdiction establishes the percentage of votes needed for election. Voting by ballot continues until someone receives the required number of votes. This year the balloting will be electronic.

With the retirement of Bishop James R. King, Jr., the South Georgia Annual Conference will be assigned a new episcopal leader effective Sept. 1. The announcement of the new episcopal leader will be made at Jurisdictional Conference.

The session will open at 8:30 a.m. on Wednesday, July 13, and will conclude on Friday, July 15, with the Service of Consecration for newly elected episcopal leaders.

The South Georgia delegation members are:

Don Adams
Jay Hanson
Bob Moon
Jim Cowart
Denise Walton
Scott Hagan
Robert Beckum
Doreen Smalls
Stacey Harwell-Dye

Bill Hatcher
Allison Lindsey
Larry Price
Carl Childs
Marianne Wright
Richard Shinhoster
Kelly Roberson
Miriam Hagan
Gloria Morgan
Rus Black

For more information and to stay connected during the entire Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference, visit

Stay in the know

Sign up for our newsletters


Conference Office

3040 Riverside Dr., Suite A-2 - Macon, GA 31210

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209


Administrative Office

3040 Riverside Dr., Suite A-2 - Macon, GA 31210

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209

478-738-0048 | 800-535-4224

Camping & Retreat Ministries

99 Arthur J. Moore Dr - St Simons Is., GA 31522

PO Box 20408 - St Simons Island, GA 31522

912-638-8626 | 888-266-7642

Contact us

Open hearts. Open minds. Open doors.