Andrew College to dedicate Sarah Anne Staples Biology Lab


Andrew College President Dr. David Seyle recently announced plans for the dedication of the Sarah Anne Staples Biology Lab in Andrew College’s Rhodes Science Center.  The dedication will be held during Andrew’s Spring Alumni Rally, April 13 to 15. 

From 1957 to 1998, except for one year teaching at Georgia State College for Women, Sarah Anne Staples served as Professor of Biological Sciences teaching courses in Biology, Vertebrate Zoology, Microbiology, and Anatomy and Physiology.  Alumni today attribute their success as well as their belief in their self-worth to the influence of Staples. 

Although she did not like receiving the attention, Staples garnered recognition from Andrew College.  She received the Outstanding Teacher of the Year award on three separate occasions and was the inaugural recipient of the Richard Newton Scholar Award for Teaching Excellence.  For more than 35 years, she served as advisor for Andrew’s Phi Theta Kappa Chapter, Theta Lambda.  As a result of her leadership the chapter twice received the Most Distinguished Chapter in the Nation award.  Despite her wishes, she was named as a Faculty Scholar by the Theta Lambda Chapter. 

Staples was named to “Who’s Who in American Education and Leaders in American Science” in 1968.  In 1970 and 1973, she was named as an Outstanding Educator of America.  She was a recipient of the Exemplary Teaching Award of the Board of Higher Education in Ministry of The United Methodist Church. 

Staples challenged her students to better themselves.  As a result, scores of alumni have their own “Miss Staples” stories to tell.  Her giving spirit carried over into the community where she was known as thoughtful and considerate to everyone she met.  She listened and went beyond the ordinary boundaries of caring to help those in need.  

The Sarah Anne Staples Biology Lab Dedication date and time will be announced soon.  Gifts made in memory of Miss Staples will go towards providing academic support for the Biology Department and its student scholarships.