Awards presented at Annual Conference Session


Evangelistic awards were presented during the 2013 Annual Conference session to churches in each district which charted the largest net gain in membership, the largest number of professions of faith, and the best ratio of professions of faith with regard to membership. 

Heritage United Methodist Church in Macon was the overall conference leader in the largest net gain in membership and led the conference in the largest number of professions of faith.  Gibson United Methodist Church, of the Dublin District, had the best ratio of professions of faith in the conference.

A host of other churches and individuals were recognized in a presentation during the South Georgia Annual Conference session:

Carruth Mission Awards

Highest Total Given to Missions: St. Luke UMC

Highest Per Capita Given to Missions: Friendship UMC

Wesley Glen

Top Churches in Giving: Liberty, Vineville, St. Paul, Forest Hills, Pittman Park, Surrency, Wynnton, Riverside, Statesboro First, Lizella

Church of the Year: St. Paul UMC

Harry Jackson Group of the Year: Lizella UMC

Outstanding Contribution Award: Liberty UMC

Servant Leadership Award: Rev. Buddy Cooper

Open Door Community House, Inc.

The Mrs. Butch Deaton “Living the Vision” Award:  John Martin

Outstanding Financial Stewardship in Charitable Contributions:  St. Luke UMC (highest giving) and Midway UMC (highest giving per capita)

Magnolia Manor 

Largest Amount of Financial Support Per Capita in the Annual Conference: Americus First UMC

Top 10 Supporting Churches: Americus First, Cordele First, Albany First, St. Paul, St. Marys, St. Simons, Ellaville, Thomasville First, St. Luke, Scotland. 

South Georgia Black Methodist Church Renewal Distinguished Service Awards

Harry Hoosier Award Winner: Rev. Earl James

Mary McCloud Bethune Award Winner: Rev. Denise Walton

Rev. Joseph Roberson Advocacy: Clemon DeRamus, South Columbus UMC

Methodist Home for Children and Youth

Top Church by Giving: St. Marys UMC 

Top Church per Capita: Ellis Chapel UMC

Top District in Total Giving and Per Capita: Macon District

Arthur Moore Methodist Museum

Award for Historic Preservation: Dr. Martha Tootle Cain

Commission on Higher Education and Campus Ministry

Asbury Award for Outstanding Ministry to College Students: Rev. Enoch Hendry

Five-Star Pastors

Bishop King recognized 21 pastors for being Five-Star Pastors. The five criteria each pastor has to meet in order to be recognized as a “Five-Star Pastor” are: teaching, self care, net gain goal of 5 percent, apportionments, and being a connectional church.  There were 108 Four-Star Pastors.

Christy Bandy

Robert Beckum

Annette W. Brooks

Jason Dickerson

Loretta Dunbar

Bob Ellis

Francis L. Ford

B.J. Funk

Cindy Garrard

J. Keith Goodlett

Rick Hamilton

Jay Hanson

Ronnie Howell

Nate Lehman

Brett Maddocks

Wayne McDonald

Lynn Meadows-White

Kent Miller

Rick Mitchell

Ken Myers

Randy Nease

Tyler Plaxico

Ivelisse Quiñones

Chris Ramsey

Donna Sue Roberts

Devin Schultz

Travis Smith

Randy Spicer

John Stephens

John H. Stephens, III

Rick Turner

Jack Varnell

Howard White

Reggie Williams