Leading SGAUMC Forward: A Bright Future with Hope

Celebrating Ministry Milestones and Achievements at Annual Conference


Annual Conference is a special time to celebrate ministry milestones and achievements, from those just entering the ministry to those taking the next step of their journey into retirement.

During the Board of Ordained Ministry report Monday afternoon, individuals were recognized for achieving milestones and achievements.

Received into their new relationship with the conference as Elders and Full Conference Members were Jonathan William Beckum, Nathan Christopher Lehman, and Jeremiah Haynes Martin.

Elected into provisional membership were: Elder track - Lauren Elizabeth West; Deacon track - Madelyn Mary Henderson.

Others highlighted during the Clergy Session Monday morning were:

New Certified Candidates: Kris Dockery, Michael Green, Katie Griffis, Laurel Griffith, Michelle Hayes, Hal Jenkins, Matt Mullis, Lindsay Neal, Eric Pittman, Jennifer Stockert, and Payton Stone.

Licensing School Graduates: Hal Jenkins, Michelle Hayes, Matt Mullis, Laurel Griffith, and Eric Pittman.

New Local Pastors: Tim DeGuire, Michael Green (from Florida), Katie Griffis (student appointment in North Georgia), Laurel Griffith, Michelle Hayes, Hal Jenkins, Tab Miller, Matt Mullis, Lindsay Neal, Sean O’Neil (from East Ohio), Sam Paul, Eric Pittman, Payton Stone (from North Georgia), and William Walley (from Mississippi).

Course of Study graduates: Michael Forbes, Clay Loadman, Thomas Tidwell, Antonie Walker, Jay Williams, and John Ryan (2019-2020).

Tears streamed down Rev. Fran Magoni’s face as she processed with other Board of Ordained Ministry members into St. Luke United Methodist Church’s sanctuary Monday evening during the ordination and commissioning service.

“There just aren’t enough words to describe the joy I felt as we processed in to the hymn, ‘The Church’s One Foundation,’” said Rev. Magoni, chair of the Board of Ordained Ministry and associate pastor at Martha Bowman United Methodist Church. “After two years of not being able to gather in person for Annual Conference, it did my soul good to be in the midst of God’s people, singing at the top of my lungs, tears streaming down my face as we proclaimed in song together:

‘Elect from ev’ry nation, yet one o’er all the earth; her charter of salvation: one Lord, one faith, one birth. One holy name she blesses, partakes one holy food, and to one hope she presses, with ev’ry grace endued.’

“What a holy moment it was to see men and women who have said ‘yes’ to the call of God being commissioned and ordained to the ministry to which they have been called and for the inspiring message from Bishop Graves. The Ordination Service was the highlight of Annual Conference for me this year, and a reminder of just how precious our connection is in the South Georgia Conference.”

On Tuesday morning, the South Georgia Annual Conference celebrated with those clergy who have served in ministry for 50 years and those who are entering into a retired relationship with the Annual Conference.

Clergy recognized for having served 50 years in ministry include:

Rev. Donald L. Adams
Rev. John E. Brodress
Rev. Edwin Chase
Rev. Tom B. Nichols
Rev. G. Lynwood Roberts
Rev. Eric L. Sizemore
Rev. Stephen L. Webb

Clergy honored for retiring this year:
Rev. Bill Bagwell
Rev. Carl Barnhardt 
Rev. Mike Brown 
Rev. Patricia Burns 
Rev. Ellis Carpenter 
Rev. Derek Hobbs
Rev. Ron Johnson
Rev. Mike Lyons
Rev. Rick Mitchell 
Rev. Mike Ricker 
Rev. Uley Robbins 
Rev. Lynn Roberts 
Rev. Rickey Rushing 
Rev. Randy Spicer 
Rev. Tim Steffen 
Rev. Jackie Thomas 
Rev. Julie Tisinger 
Rev. Jimmy Towson 
Rev. Howard White 
Rev. Karen Zeigler

Before those gathered were dismissed, Bishop Graves and Conference members prayed a closing blessing that read, in part: 

“Go into the world and respond to the love of Christ in all you do. Live out the vision God has given you. May God's mercy, grace, and peace be with you. May you be channels for God's mercy, grace, and peace to the world wherever you may be!” 

For full Annual Conference coverage, visit www.sgaumc.org/annualconference

Stay in the know

Sign up for our newsletters


Conference Office

3040 Riverside Dr., Suite A-2 - Macon, GA 31210

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209


Administrative Office

3040 Riverside Dr., Suite A-2 - Macon, GA 31210

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209


Camping & Retreat Ministries

99 Arthur J. Moore Dr - St Simons Is., GA 31522

PO Box 20408 - St Simons Island, GA 31522


Contact us

Open hearts. Open minds. Open doors.