COVID-19 updates from Bishop Bryan | Resources for reopening church buildings | Zoom at Noon Conversations | Pray at 12:19

Evangelism and mission awards presented


Evangelistic awards were presented during the 2011 Annual Conference session to churches in each district which charted the largest net gain in membership, the largest number of professions of faith, and the best ratio of professions of faith with regard to membership. 

Harvest Church in Byron, of the Macon District, was the overall conference leader in the largest net gain in membership.  They also led the conference in the largest number of professions of faith for the year.  Cedar Grove United Methodist Church, of the Dublin District, had the best ratio of professions of faith in the conference.

A host of other churches and individuals were recognized in a presentation during the South Georgia Annual Conference session:

Carruth Mission Awards

Exceptional Service and Dedication to Mission Outreach by an Individual: Bobby Gale

Highest Total Given to Missions: St. Marys UMC
Highest Per Capita Given to Missions: Vienna UMC

Wesley Glen

Top Churches in Giving: Vienna UMC, Liberty UMC, Pittman Park UMC, Valdosta First UMC, Vineville UMC

Open Door Community House, Inc.
The Mrs. Butch Deaton “Living the Vision” Award:  Mrs. Kent Butler

Outstanding Financial Stewardship in Charitable Contributions:  St. Paul UMC (highest giving) and St. Luke UMC (highest giving per capita)

Magnolia Manor

Largest Amount of Financial Support in the Annual Conference: Americus First UMC
Largest Per Capita Financial Support in the Annual Conference: Vienna UMC
Thomas O. Marshall, Jr. Good Samaritan Awards: Isle of Hope UMC (church) and Juanita Wilder (individual)

South Georgia Black Methodist Church Renewal Distinguished Service Awards

Harry Hoosier Award Winner: Ms. Minnie Carlisle, laity, M.L. Harris UMC

Mary McCloud Bethune Award Winner: Ms. Carol-Lynn McCarthy, laity, Vision of Jesus UMC

United Methodist Men

G. Ross Freeman Leadership Award: Rev. Eddie Braswell, Dawson-Graves Charge

United Methodist Volunteers In Mission

Golden Hammer Award: Grace Wicker and the Agape Stitchers

Methodist Home for Children and Youth

Top Church by Giving: Vineville UMC
Top Church per Capita: Sasser UMC

Five-Star Pastors

Bishop King recognized 22 pastors for being Five-Star Pastors.  The five criteria each pastor has to meet in order to be recognized as a “Five-Star Pastor” are: teaching, self care, net gain goal of 5 percent, apportionments, and being a connectional church.  “They are indicators that we are moving in the right direction,” Bishop King said.

Columbus District

Chip Grantham

Lamar Harper

Denise Walton

Dublin District

Mark Hardin

Jack Key

Barbara Nelson

Tyler Plaxico

Macon District

Jim Cowart

Jim Davis

Savannah District

Randall Nease

Statesboro District

Joe Flowers Jr.

David Griffin

Karen Zeigler

Thomasville District

Garth Duke Barton

Bryan Gerstel

Larry Kent Miller

Donna Sue Roberts

H. Lynn Roberts

Ernie Rogers

G. Randall Spicer

Waycross District

Jay Hanson

John Stephens


Stay in the know

Sign up for our newsletters


Conference Office

3040 Riverside Dr., Suite A-2 - Macon, GA 31210

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209


Administrative Office

3040 Riverside Dr., Suite A-2 - Macon, GA 31210

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209

478-738-0048 | 800-535-4224

Camping & Retreat Ministries

99 Arthur J. Moore Dr - St Simons Is., GA 31522

PO Box 20408 - St Simons Island, GA 31522

912-638-8626 | 888-266-7642

Contact us

Open hearts. Open minds. Open doors.