Evangelism and mission awards presented at Annual Conference Session


Evangelistic awards were presented during the 2012 Annual Conference session to churches in each district which charted the largest net gain in membership, the largest number of professions of faith, and the best ratio of professions of faith with regard to membership. 

Harvest Church in Byron, of the Macon District, was again the overall conference leader in the largest net gain in membership. Columbus’ St. Luke United Methodist Church led the conference in the largest number of professions of faith.  Wesley Chapel United Methodist Church, of the Dublin District, had the best ratio of professions of faith in the conference.

A host of other churches and individuals were recognized in a presentation during the South Georgia Annual Conference session:

Carruth Mission Awards

Exceptional Service and Dedication to Mission Outreach by an Individual: Jamie Gibson

Highest Total Given to Missions: St. Luke UMC

Highest Per Capita Given to Missions: Friendship UMC

Wesley Glen

Top Churches in Giving: Vienna UMC, Liberty UMC, Vineville UMC, St. Paul UMC, Douglas First UMC, Isle of Hope UMC, Wynnton UMC, Tifton First UMC, Porterfield UMC, Thomasville First UMC

Church of the Year: Vienna UMC

10-Year Service Award: Rev. John Irwin

Open Door Community House, Inc.

The Mrs. Butch Deaton “Living the Vision” Award:  Helen Johnson

Outstanding Financial Stewardship in Charitable Contributions:  Pierce Chapel UMC (highest giving) and St. Luke UMC (highest giving per capita)

Magnolia Manor 

Largest Amount of Financial Support Per Capita in the Annual Conference: Americus First UMC

Top 10 Supporting Churches: Americus First UMC, St. Marys UMC, Thomasville First UMC, Vienna UMC, Albany First UMC, Cordele First UMC, St. Simons UMC, Ellaville UMC, St. Luke UMC, Isle of Hope UMC

South Georgia Black Methodist Church Renewal Distinguished Service Awards

Harry Hoosier Award Winner: Rev. Lenton Powell

Mary McCloud Bethune Award Winner: Rev. Beverly Flowers

United Methodist Volunteers In Mission

Golden Hammer Award: Gene Barber

Methodist Home for Children and Youth

Top Church by Giving: St. Marys UMC 

Top Church per Capita: Alston UMC

Top District in Total Giving and Per Capita: Macon District

Five-Star Pastors

Bishop King recognized 21 pastors for being Five-Star Pastors. The five criteria each pastor has to meet in order to be recognized as a “Five-Star Pastor” are: teaching, self care, net gain goal of 5 percent, apportionments, and being a connectional church.  “They are indicators that we are moving in the right direction,” Bishop King said. There were 126 Four-Star Pastors.

Americus District

Billy Kimbrel
Rick Mitchell
Kenneth Myers
Lee Pettis
Chris Ramsey

Columbus District

Jimmy MclIrath

Dublin District

Tyler Plaxico

Macon District

Jim Cowart

Savannah District

Matt Hearn

Statesboro District

Bernie Khaw
Wes Moye
Janet Odegaard
Steve Purnell

Thomasville District

Kent Miller
H. Lynn Roberts
Randy Spicer

Valdosta District

Jason Dickerson
Gary Minton
Thomas Parrish

Waycross District

Jay Hanson
Abra Lattany-Reed

Stay in the know

Sign up for our newsletters


Conference Office

735 Pierce Avenue - Macon, GA 31204

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209


Administrative Office

520 Professional Drive, Suite 1 - Macon, GA 31201

PO Box 13145 - Macon, GA 31208

478-738-0048 | 800-535-4224

Camping & Retreat Ministries

99 Arthur J. Moore Dr - St Simons Is., GA 31522

PO Box 20408 - St Simons Island, GA 31522

912-638-8626 | 888-266-7642

Contact us