Mission, ministry, evangelism awards presented at Annual Conference session


Evangelistic awards were presented during the 2014 Annual Conference session to churches in each district that charted the largest net gain in membership, the largest number of professions of faith, and the best ratio of professions of faith with regard to membership.

The Ridge in Columbus was the overall conference leader in the largest net gain in membership and led the conference in the largest number of professions of faith. Gateway Community Church in Pooler had the best ratio of professions of faith in the conference.

A host of other churches and individuals were recognized in a presentation during the South Georgia Annual Conference session:

Carruth Mission Awards

Highest Total Given to Missions: St. Marys UMC
Highest Per Capita Given to Missions: Chula UMC

Wesley Glen

Top Churches in Giving: Liberty, Vineville, Cordele First, St. Paul, Wynnton, Vienna, Riverside, Forest Hills, Barney, Isle of Hope
Church of the Year: Liberty UMC
Harry Jackson Group of the Year: Liberty UMC Fish Fry Cookers
Distinguished Service Award: Steve Rumford
Professional of the Year: Jenny Horton

Open Door Community House, Inc.

The Mrs. Butch Deaton "Living the Vision" Award: Mrs. Jean Adams of Wynnton UMC
Outstanding Financial Stewardship in Charitable Contributions: St. Luke UMC (highest giving) and Asbury UMC (highest giving per capita)

Magnolia Manor 

Largest Amount of Financial Support Per Capita in the Annual Conference: Americus First UMC
Top 10 Supporting Churches: Americus First, Vineville, St. Simons, Cordele, Leslie, Ellaville, Albany First, St. Luke, St. Marys, Cairo First

South Georgia Black Methodist Church Renewal Distinguished Service Awards

Harry Hoosier Award Winner: Rev. Reggie Williams, South Columbus UMC
Mary McCloud Bethune Award Winner: Rev. Patricia Burns, Associate Pastor, M.L. Harris UMC
Rev. Joseph Roberson Advocacy: Richard Shinhoster, Speewell UMC, member

Methodist Home for Children and Youth

Top Churches by Giving: St. Marys, Vineville, Mulberry, Cordele First, Martha Bowman, Gray, Wesley Monumental, St. Luke, Tifton First, Perry
Top Churches Per Capita: Danville, Maple Springs, Bartow, Chula, Ellis Chapel, Friendship, St. Marys, Alston, Wesley (Howard Charge), Asbury (Macon)
Top District in Total Giving and Per Capita: Macon District

Arthur Moore Methodist Museum

Award for Historic Preservation: Robert Hutto, Church Historian  Jamestown UMC

Five-Star Pastors

Bishop King recognized 36 pastors for being Five-Star Pastors. The five criteria each pastor has to meet in order to be recognized as a "Five-Star Pastor" are: teaching, self care, net gain goal of 5 percent, apportionments, and being a connectional church.  There were 107 Four-Star Pastors.

C. Hale Bishop
Charlie Boyd
Patrick Brannen
Annette Brooks
Mike Brown
C. James Carter
Sandra Conley
Jim Cowart
Michael Culbreth
Frank Danner
Mollie Danner
Jason Dillard
Bob Ellis
Jay Hanson
Mark Hardin
Larry Hauser
Thad Haygood
Nick Hazleton
Matt Hearn
Craig Hutto
Ken Myers
Lee Pettis
Ernie Rogers
Mark Smith
John Stephens III
David Tart III
Jimmy Towson
Gil Tripp
Jay Tucker
Jack Varnell
Bruce Vaughn
Jean Watson
Jay Williams
Ronnie Wills
Bill Woodson
Karen Zeigler

Stay in the know

Sign up for our newsletters


Conference Office

735 Pierce Avenue - Macon, GA 31204

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209


Administrative Office

520 Professional Drive, Suite 1 - Macon, GA 31201

PO Box 13145 - Macon, GA 31208

478-738-0048 | 800-535-4224

Camping & Retreat Ministries

99 Arthur J. Moore Dr - St Simons Is., GA 31522

PO Box 20408 - St Simons Island, GA 31522

912-638-8626 | 888-266-7642

Contact us