Leading SGAUMC Forward: A Bright Future with Hope

Worship Opportunities at Annual Conference


The South Georgia Conference Committee on Worship has worked diligently to plan beautiful and meaningful worship opportunities during our Annual Conference gathering next week. The Committee on Memoirs is instrumental in the planning and implementation of the Memorial Service. We are thankful to both of these committees for their time and commitment. As we gather to conduct our business these times of worship will center us and help us focus on the faithfulness of God.

As a reminder, two of our services will take place at St. Luke UMC, which is just a few blocks away from the Convention Center. Both the Ordination/Commissioning Service (7 pm Monday) and the Memorial Service (2 pm Tuesday) will be in the church’s sanctuary. All services will be live streamed at www.sgaumc.org/aclivestreaming

All Annual Conference details can be found at www.sgaumc.org/annualconference. Click here to read this week’s Advocate article, “South Georgia prepares for 2022 Annual Conference session.”


Opening Worship Service, 7 pm

  • Preaching: Bishop James Swanson
  • Music Leaders: Mr. Kenji Bolden and Rev. Tony Crosby
  • Special Music: St. Mary’s Road UMC 
  • Special Conference Mission Offering: North Katanga Partnership


Morning Worship Service, 9:45 am

  • Preaching: Rev. Adriane Burgess
  • Music Leaders: Dr. Anthony McPhail, Mr. Matt Mullis, and Rev. Robert Wood

Service of Ordination with Commissioning (St. Luke UMC), 7 pm
Pre-service concert begins at 6:30 pm

  • Peaching: Bishop David Graves
  • To be ordained as Full Conference Members/Elders: Jonathan William Beckum, Nathan Christopher Lehman, and Jeremiah Haynes Martin
  • To be commissioned as Probationary Member for Ordination as Elder: Lauren Elizabeth West
  • To be commissioned as Probationary Member for Ordination as Deacon: Madelyn Mary Henderson
  • Music Leader: Mr. Marc F. Boensel
  • Special Music: Mass choir made up of individuals from nine South Georgia United Methodist churches (St. Luke, St. Mark, Wynnton, Striplin Terrace, St. Mary’s Road, Porterfield, Albany First, Avalon, and Friendship)
  • Offering: Ministerial Education Fund    
  • Reception following the service honoring the 2022, 2021, & 2020 Ordination & Commissioning Classes (St. Luke UMC, Stockwell Hall)
  • Download the Order of Worship


Morning Worship, 8:30 am

  • Preaching: Rev. Teresa Edwards
  • Music Leaders: Rev. Jerry Akin, Rev. Tony Crosby, and Dr. Anthony McPhail

Fifty Years in Ministry and Retiree Recognition Service, 11:15 am

  • Celebrating 50 years in ministry: Donald L. Adams, John E. Brodress, Edwin Chase, Tom B. Nichols, G. Lynwood Roberts, Eric L. Sizemore, and Stephen L. Webb
  • Retiring at this Annual Conference: Bill Bagwell, Carl Barnhardt, Mike Brown, Patricia Burns, Ellis Carpenter, Derek Hobbs, Ron Johnson, Mike Lyons, Rick Mitchell, Mike Ricker, Uley Robbins, Lynn Roberts, Rickey Rushing, Randy Spicer, Tim Steffen, Jackie Thomas, Julie Tisinger, Jimmy Towson, Howard White, Karen Zeigler

Memorial Service with Holy Communion (St. Luke UMC), 2 pm
This service will also be live streamed at the Convention Center



Morning Worship, 8:30 am

  • ​Preaching: Rev. Daniel Medina
  • Music Leaders: Mr. Kenji Bolden, Dr. Anthony McPhail, and Rev. Trevor Ward

Sending Forth Service, 10:30 am

  • Fixing of the 2022-2023 Appointments
  • Episcopal Address: Bishop David Graves
  • Music Leaders: Rev. Jerry Akin, Mr. Kenji Bolden, Rev. Tony Crosby, Rev. Greg Harrison, Dr. Anthony McPhail, Rev. Trevor Ward, and Rev. Robert Wood

Members of the Worship Committee:

  • Dr. Ben Gosden, Chair
  • Mr. Kenji Bolden
  • Rev. Tony Crosby
  • Mrs. Laurie Jo Upchurch
  • Rev. Daryl Brown
  • Rev. Alaina Harrison
  • Rev. Daniel Medina
  • Rev. Doreen Smalls
Members of the Committee on Memoirs: 
  • Rev. Chris Shoemaker, Chair
  • Mrs. Brenda Adams
  • Mrs. Millie Adams
  • Rev. Lowery Brantley, Member-Elect
  • Rev. Ronnie Culpepper
  • Rev. Creede Hinshaw
  • Mrs. Anne Packard, Conference Representative 
  • Rev. Vicki Scott

Stay in the know

Sign up for our newsletters


Conference Office

3040 Riverside Dr., Suite A-2 - Macon, GA 31210

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209


Administrative Office

3040 Riverside Dr., Suite A-2 - Macon, GA 31210

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209


Camping & Retreat Ministries

99 Arthur J. Moore Dr - St Simons Is., GA 31522

PO Box 20408 - St Simons Island, GA 31522


Contact us

Open hearts. Open minds. Open doors.