Leading SGAUMC Forward: A Bright Future with Hope

Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference 

November 2-4, 2022 | Lake Junaluska, NC

Bishop David Graves assigned to South Georgia

Bishop David Graves has been assigned to the South Georgia Annual Conference and will serve as the Episcopal leader for the next two years. He will also continue giving oversight to the Alabama-West Florida Annual Conference. This announcement came on the final day of the 2022 Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference held Nov. 2-4 at Lake Junaluska, NC. 

Bishop Graves was elected bishop in July 2016 by the Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference. He was assigned to the Alabama-West Florida Conference in September 2016. In addition, he has been serving South Georgia since September 2021 following the retirement of Bishop Lawson Bryan.  

The SEJ Committee on the Episcopacy reported the following assignments of the Bishops within the Southeastern Jurisdiction. Rev. Don Adams and Mr. Bill Hatcher served as the South Georgia representatives on the committee. 

Episcopal Assignments

  • Alabama-West Florida - Bishop David Graves
  • Central Appalachian Missionary - Bishop Leonard Fairley
  • Florida - Bishop Tom Berlin
  • Holston - Bishop Debra Wallace-Padgett
  • Kentucky - Bishop Leonard Fairley
  • Mississippi - Bishop Sharma Lewis
  • North Alabama - Bishop Debra Wallace-Padgett
  • North Carolina - Bishop Connie Shelton
  • North Georgia - Bishop Robin Dease
  • South Carolina - Bishop Jonathan Holston
  • South Georgia - Bishop David Graves
  • Tennessee-Western Kentucky - Bishop Bill McAlilly
  • Virginia - Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson
  • Western North Carolina - Bishop Ken Carter

Read more
Election Results - Bishops to Elect = 3
Tom Berlin (elected on the 4th ballot)
Connie Shelton (elected on the 12th ballot)
Robin Dease (elected on the 25th ballot)
All U.S. Episcopal Elections Results

Daily Updates - Daily Christian Advocate
www.sejumc.org/sej-conference-2022 (Scroll down to Daily Christian Advocate)

Social Media

South Georgia Delegation to Jurisdictional Conference​

The South Georgia Delegation: Top Row - Robert Beckum, David Thompson, Bill Hatcher,
Chuck Cowart, Richard Shinhoster, Scott Tucker, Steve Rumford;
Bottom Row - Brenda Adams, Alaina Harrison, Doreen Smalls, Scott Hagan

Photos from 
Jurisdictional Conference​


Bishop James Swanson preached the opening worship service of the
2022 Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference.

Bishop David Graves presided over the Wednesday afternoon business session.

Bishop Lawson Bryan preached the Thursday morning worship service. 

Dr. Scott Hagan led the conference in prayer before Ballot 19.

Dr. Rick Lanford introduced Bishop Bryan during the Retirement Celebration Thursday evening.

Mrs. Sherrill Bryan and Bishop Lawson Bryan were recognized during the Retirement Celebration Thursday evening. Click here to watch a video celebrating the ministry of Bishop Bryan in South Georgia.

Mr. Richard Shinhoster took part in the Friday morning Consecration Service.

Bishops who have served South Georgia, pictured L to R: Bishop Lawson Bryan, Bishop Mike Watson,
Bishop Richard Looney, Bishop David Graves and Bishop James King.

Stay in the know

Sign up for our newsletters


Conference Office

3040 Riverside Dr., Suite A-2 - Macon, GA 31210

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209


Administrative Office

3040 Riverside Dr., Suite A-2 - Macon, GA 31210

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209


Camping & Retreat Ministries

99 Arthur J. Moore Dr - St Simons Is., GA 31522

PO Box 20408 - St Simons Island, GA 31522


Contact us

Open hearts. Open minds. Open doors.