COVID-19 updates from Bishop Bryan | Resources for reopening church buildings | Pray at 12:19

The 2013 Annual Conference Session voted to reduce the number of districts from the current 9 to 6.  The new district configuration took effect on June 11, 2014.


Transition Team Report

Click here to download the Transition Team Report to the 2014 Annual Conference Session.

Transition Glossary

Click here to download the Transition Glossary.

District Lines

Click here for a map that shows the six district lines.

Churches By District

Click here for a list of all South Georgia Churches

Guiding Principles for the Transition

1 - The annual conference has decided the number of districts and now the bishop will form the districts after consultation with the cabinet.

2 - A transition team will assist in determining how the districts are formed.

3 - The transition team will develop a feedback system for sharing information and receiving input from the members of the conference.

4 -  Over the next year the Bishop, Cabinet and transition team will be working together to implement the reduction from 9 districts to 6 districts.  A detailed and complete report will be presented for information at the 2014 Annual Conference Session.

5 - A Christlike world occurs as each believer accepts and lives out their baptismal responsibility.

From Bishop James King

RethinkRevisitRevise from Kelly Roberson on Vimeo.

Note from Bishop James King (6/6/13)

Note from Bishop James King (7/1/13)

Updates on the Process

Bishop King unveils 2013 strategy and Executive Transition Team (7/8/13)

Executive Transition Team meets for first time (8/5/13)

Executive Transition Team meets in September (9/23/13)

Executive Transition Team update (10/21/13)

Transition Team update (1/22/14)

Bishop King Announces Projected Appointments of Six District Superintendents (1/31/14)

Transition Team releases report (4/17/14)

Three years later, Conference reduces to six districts (6/9/14)

Key transition times for the Conference

June 2014:  Annual Conference will vote on new leadership for six districts.

June 2014: At the close of the 2014 Annual Conference, District Superintendents will organize new districts into clusters. Clusters will represent 8-10 churches. District Superintendents will determine the leaders to assist with cluster models.

June-July 2014: At the close of 2014 Annual Conference, District Superintendents will organize new District Leadership Teams for the six new districts

January 1, 2015: Projected date for conference and district budgets to be aligned with the six district conference model.

January 1, 2015: District property issues such as parsonages will be addressed by district leadership teams and will be ongoing until resolved

Transition Team 

Executive Transition Team members

Bishop James R. King, Jr., co-chair
Gloria Morgan, co-chair and Conference Lay Leader
Eric Mathews, Executive Assistant to the Bishop
Rev. Karen Prevatt, Executive Transition Team Secretary and Director of Living Tall Ministries

Rev. Jimmy Cason, Council on Finance and Administration (CFA) chairman
Dr. Nita Crump, Hawkinsville First UMC 
Rev. Jason Dickerson, Antioch UMC
Rev. Denise Walton, Assistant to the Bishop for Connectional Ministries
Dr. Rick Lanford, President, The Foundation of The Methodist Home

Miriam Hagan, Conference Director of Administration
Sheila Moland, member of Bemiss UMC
Lynn Walker, member of Brooklet UMC
Richard Shinhoster, member of Speedwell UMC

Executive Transition Team meeting dates

April – May 2014: Executive Transition Team will give a report at District Conferences

June 2014: Executive Transition Team Report for 2014 Annual Conference

Provide feedback for the Transition Team 

As we move forward in a year of transition in the South Georgia Annual Conference your thoughts and feedback are very important. This is a place for you to share your ideas, comments and questions that you would like to see the Transition Team consider as they move forward with their work. The information collected in this form will be shared with the Transition Team. Provide feedback for the Transition Team 

Stay in the know

Sign up for our newsletters


Conference Office

3040 Riverside Dr., Suite A-2 - Macon, GA 31210

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209


Administrative Office

3040 Riverside Dr., Suite A-2 - Macon, GA 31210

PO Box 7227 - Macon, GA 31209

478-738-0048 | 800-535-4224

Camping & Retreat Ministries

99 Arthur J. Moore Dr - St Simons Is., GA 31522

PO Box 20408 - St Simons Island, GA 31522

912-638-8626 | 888-266-7642

Contact us

Open hearts. Open minds. Open doors.